First Time Builder seeking advice

markamadeo

Honorable
Jul 29, 2012
Hi this is my first time building my own computer and I have been spending my free time over the past few months learning about all the parts I need and what to look for.

Approximate purchase date: I want to have the new computer assembled and ready when Windows 8 comes out (around the holidays). So I am thinking of buying the parts in the next few months.

Budget Range: Looking at what I want and pricing, I think it is reasonable to approximate between $2k and $2.5k (obviously cheaper is better).

System Usage from Most to Least Important: 1080p Youtube Videos (upload and watch), High resolution gaming, surfing the internet (Facebook/Twitter/Wikipedia/various blogs are most common sites), Excel/OneNote/Outlook/Word, Skype, DVDs).

Are you buying a monitor: No.

Parts: The following is what I was thinking...

Case: Lian Li PC-8NWX {$150}
Motherboard: Asus P9X79 {$250}
Processor: i7-3820 {$280}
PSU: OCZ ZX Series 1250W {$210}
Memory: Corsair Dominator (2x4GB) {$70}
GPU: nVidia Geforce GTX 690 {$1000}
DVD: Asus DRW-24BST {$20}
Hard Drive: OCZ Vertex 3 (240GB) {$290}

Do I need to buy an OS: I'll get Windows 8 when it comes out in the Fall (the basic version nothing flashy).

Preferred Website for parts: For prices I was just comparing what is on Amazon and Google shopping and trying to find the cheapest. Don't really have a preference.

Parts Preference: The only brand preference I have is I want an Intel processor and an nVidia graphics card. I currently have an AMD Athlon II X2 220 Processor 2.80 GHz and an ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series graphics card. I would like to try out the other brand. I wouldn't mind if someone gave me a reason I shouldn't go for Intel/nVidia as I am willing to change my mind but all things being the same, I want the Intel/nVidia.