Sign in with
Your question

Video Card for 3 Monitors - Non Gaming

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
June 7, 2012 3:28:35 AM

I read another thread asking the same question, but it is over a year old.

I have 2 - ASUS VW246H monitors (1920x1080). I am planning on a 3rd monitor in the near future, possibly a higher resolution IPS. This one could be 1920x1200 or even 2560x1600.

I will NOT be gaming on this at all. It will be used for Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Outlook, Word, web browsing, etc. I am a web developer and very often have multiple full screen programs going simultaneously.

Will a card like this run it?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Or, do I need to stick with AMD? Or, is that just for Eyefinity?

My new monitor will most likely have display port, so I don't think I need to stick with the Sapphire "Flex" series.

Another small possibility is 4 of the ASUS 24's, double stacked. For that, I think 2 less expensive cards will fit my needs better, correct?

Thank you in advance for all your advice.
a b U Graphics card
a b C Monitor
June 7, 2012 4:49:54 AM

The nVidia 5XX series cannot support 3 displays at the same time. But 6XX series can.
For more than 2 display, AMD 5XXX & onwards supports it with the use of display port & you do not need to activate Eyefinity to use 3 display. Eyefinity just makes the 3 display as one big desktop. If you do not want it, you can leave it disabled. Just be aware that if you have different resolution on your 3rd display & want to use Eyefinity, its resolution will be reduced to the that of the other 2 to have the same resolution across all display.

And if you are not gaming anyway, you can select even the cheap AMD 56XX, 66XX or 7XXX cards & meet your need. It only depends on how much you are willing to spend for it.

m
l
June 7, 2012 1:23:53 PM