Sign in with
Your question
Closed

First Build Suggestions

Last response: in Systems
July 29, 2012 9:31:23 PM

So I have never built a computer before and I have been looking at parts for a while now (3-ish weeks) and have decided to get on the forums for suggestions. My price range is $1000 and lower. I have selected my parts but am wondering if there are any sugestions for me. Thanks in advance!

Approx Purhase Date: Sometime This August or Early September

Budget: $1000 after rebates, before shipping

System Usage (most to least important): Gaming (High settings for most games [rpg and fps moslty]), Microsoft Office, Normal Web surfing/pc usage, and very little use of autodesk

Monitor: Sure, suggestions please, but not included in the budget

OS: Yes, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit, NOT included in budget

Preferred websites: Newegg, but anything reliable and reasonably priced

Overclocking: Yes, if the processor supports it like an intel unlocked cpu

SLI/Crossfire: Not now, but maybe in the future if it makes enough of a difference

Monitor resolution: Dont have one yet, but probably a 24-30 inch

Additional Comments: Want: unlocked cpu, windowed case (there is a seperate one for the case below), modular psu, reliable long lasting parts. LEDs are a plus definitely but not needed, and i would LOVE a quiet PC

Parts Selected So Far: Please leave suggestions for these and tell me if they are good choices or not, thanks!

Case: NZXT Phantom PHAN-001BK Black Steel / Plastic Enthusiast ATX Full Tower Computer Case:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Storage: Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive am concerned about some of the recent reviews...

Boot Drive: Crucial M4 CT064M4SSD2 2.5" 64GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)