Opinions on my First Built

diablo_primo

Honorable
Jul 23, 2012
Greetings, I just want some opinions if the system I built will be good for 3-4 years before upgrading as this is my first attempt of building one by myself.

Asus Sabertooth z77
Intel i5 2500k
Gskill Ripjaws X 4x2GB PC 10666 cl9
Gtx 550 Ti Sonic ( SLI )
Seasonic M12ii 620w
1440x900 lcd
razer lycosa
roccat kone +
mechanical drives for now, planning on Raid0 ssd with hdd few months from now

I play games but don't care if its ultra settings or medium. as long as the game plays smoothly

r0ck095

Honorable
Jul 2, 2012
I would recommend going for a newer graphics card, and just one, so that you have the option of SLI of crossfire down the line when this starts to get old as well. I would recommend the gtx 670, or the HD 7950 3gb. As far as RAM goes, it is the biggest bottleneck for your SSD as far as I am aware, so I would recommend switching to 2*4gb 1600mhz g skill ripjaws. RAM is dirt cheap, so you could go for even more if you want, and you have the option of upgrading again in the future. The i5 is a great processor, but depending what the prices are like near you, it might be worth going for the i5 3570k instead. If you want to SLI in the future, I don't know about your PSU, but I would recommend about 750W, just to be safe on the power side. Also, if you haven't already got that 1440*900 monitor, definitely go for a 1920*1080, or you will regret it immensely.

The MoBo and CPOU are top end...which makes the rest of the build a bit unbalanced.

RAM - this low voltage set will ease the load on your memory controller and is higher performance
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233199

The 550 is just below here things start to get fun...... and I'd be more likely to recommend an AMD card in this price range. Options I'd recommend:

Twin 560 Ti's for about $440
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121425

One GTX 670 for $430