What power supply do i need?

sqoh

Honorable
Dec 4, 2012
Hey guys,
I just bought a Core i5-3570K CPU, a Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard and Corsair 8GB RAM. First time trying to build a PC used mainly for long hours of gaming and general use and was wondering what type of power supply i need to support these compoments. Havent really looked into graphics cards, coolers or harddrives yet but if any of you have some in mind that would help me out alot.

Thankyou, Sqoh.

sqoh

Honorable
Dec 4, 2012
Thanks for the reply.

I still need a Graphics Card, HDD, NIC and some sort of CPU cooler, haven't really looked into these yet.
My budget would be ~£150 for each component but would be willing to spend more if needed.
As it is my first build I would love some advice on all compents.

jemm

Distinguished
I understand you´re asking for advise on graphics cards, coolers and HDD. Your CPU, Mobo, RAM comb is really good, so it deserves a good graphics card!

The Radeon HD 7850 2 GB is a very good deal at the moment, as its price went down a bit. This card needs at least a 500W PSU, but as you may want to overclock, then it is a good idea to have an extra room, a 600W of a good brand (Corsair, Antec, Seasonic) PSU is recommended.

There are some good deals on HDD, but if you really want performance for your system, then get a SSD too! :)

sqoh

Honorable
Dec 4, 2012
Thanks alot, Yeah that looks like a good card within my budget I'll look into it.

So really anything with 600W+ from a well known brand would be ok with my that graphics card and what i already have?
Is it possible for PSU being too powerful for components?

And yeah i was thinking about a Solid State and might just get one now, thanks for your advice.

sqoh

Honorable
Dec 4, 2012
Thanks alot, Yeah that looks like a good card within my budget I'll look into it.

So really anything with 600W+ from a well known brand would be ok with my that graphics card and what i already have?