Your question

Constant Issues With Crashes, New Installation W7, Even Worse

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
June 9, 2012 12:17:15 AM

Specs:

HD 6970
6GB DDR3
i7 930

As the title states. I've been having intermediate issues with my graphics card when it comes to driver crashes and the occasional vertical line crashes. The reason all this started up again was that i started playing Max Payne 3, i played it for a good 3 hours and went to bed. I woke up in the morning, watched a few videos and started playing again and almost 4 minutes in it crashed. I did absolutely nothing to my system, went to bed, woke up, started playing. I decided to update my drivers, the issues got worse and now all my games started crashing such as TF2. I went and down graded my drivers and that did nothing, tried various OC methods to try and force it to work, didn't work either.

I made a log of my temps several times, the max it got up to was 71c most of the time around 68c so it can't be a temp issue.
My CPU is not over heating as well, around 40-50 some C if i remember correctly. I'm not to familiar with voltages and weather or not they are high enough or not.

Now i can make it crash all the time with portal 2. I start up a map, it takes around 30 seconds for it to start artifact then 15 seconds or so later it vertical line crashes.

I'm lost, i don't know what to do!

EDIT:

So for shits and giggles i switched to a different PCI-E port and it made me re-install the drivers oddly enough. Though this did change something. The full proof way i had to make sure it crashed was to start up portal and wait a minute and it would start artifacting and crashing, though this time the graphics drivers crashed about 4 minutes in and put me back to desktop. So i decided to start up GW2, i played it for a good 20 minutes until i got the vertical line crash. Hopefully this helps.
June 9, 2012 1:12:37 AM

I would try RMA on the card, artifacting is a GPU or PCIe issue.
June 9, 2012 1:19:20 AM