Stick with Phenom II 810 or i5-3570K?

ajohns41

Distinguished
Apr 17, 2011
I'm turning to the hivemind for this one - I'm torn.

Currently, I'm in the process of "rebuilding" an HP p6230y desktop I was given. It's getting moved to a new home (as in, a Phantom 410) at the end of this month, so I can start to learn the intricacies of overclocking (the case it comes in doesn't have nearly the cooling I would need).

The biggest problem I have with it right now is the motherboard - it's outdated and doesn't quite fit with what I want to do (only gets to SATA2 and lacks USB 3.0 support, both things I want). I want to get a new motherboard with SATA3 and USB 3.0, as well as an added PCI-Express slot so I can add a second Radeon 6850 in the future, if needed.

This computer currently has a Phenom II 810. I'm not entirely sure how that will overclock, but as I've never done this before, I don't need it to do anything over the top. My question is: do I stick with this processor and get a nicer AMD motherboard, or do I go all-out and upgrade to the i5-3570K and a brand new Intel motherboard? Or, to be blunt - is this processor worth keeping around for 1-2 more years, or will I end up needing to upgrade it?

Here's hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

EDIT - I'm not opposed to getting a nicer AMD CPU in the future, if I stick with this motherboard, as I'm aware mine is not at all the best I could have. Just trying to figure out if I can get away with spending a little less before my wedding!

Solution