My computer isn't starting after i changed my processor...!!!!!

armageddon007

Honorable
Sep 26, 2012
Today, i manually replaced my pentiumD processor with a core 2 duo E 7400...... (manually).....!!!
then as i switched on my pc, it started and ran for 2-3 sedonds . Then it switched off automatically..which was absurd..!!!
I'm really pissed on this and desperately want my pc running again....

Extra info: i am a kind of pro so i ensured that i didn't do any silly thing.........i own a cooler master 450 watt psu with 32 amps on the 12 v rail..
I reinserted my ram..but this didn't help..
I checked all my connections thoroughly and again...(but no gain)

My computer starts with making a normal computer like wizzing sound with nothing on the screen. After 2- 3 seconds, the logo of the motherboard appears and after that.........wooosh...everything off...black...!!!!
Any help will be largely appreciated...thnxx

Solution
Hi, It might be a heating issue. Try installing the stock CPU fan and see if still the same.
Is the CPU supported without a BIOS update?

armageddon007

Honorable
Sep 26, 2012
I really dont know if it's the cpu fan causing problems..
I think its a bit loosely installed.. Well....(it's not the heating problem though)
Does loose stock cpu fan causes this type of problem...??????

And yeah..the cpu is supported without a BIOS update..

lordravage

Distinguished
May 10, 2011
You did make sure to apply new thermal paste when you put the heatsink onto the processor right (or at least confirm it was pre-applied)? And if you were reusing an old heatsink you made sure to scrape off the old paste?

It definitely sounds like a heat issue, although you could also have maybe been unlucky and managed to bend a pin or not get the processor to seat completely, it always sucks to have to take it completely out to check though.

weilin

Distinguished