I7 3770 non-k temp problems

Cuui

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2009
Hi I have the above processor with a stock cooler on a p8z77-v pro board in a HAF XM case. I was sitting pretty using AI Suite 2 to monitor + record temps - it never went above 65 degree playing Counter Strike Global Offensive according to that software. But then I got curious from reading and decided to try HW Monitor and CoreTemp.

After about 5 minutes of playing in a full server I alt tab to see the max reported temps (in both HWmon and CoreTemp) were between 80-87 degree for all four cores. I don't think this can be good. I'm not sure what to do. I am NOT tech savvy.

My first inkling is to reseat the stock heat-sink. I am not sure if I will have to take the whole mobo out, which I'd rather not do. But if the stock cooler really sucks that much, I'm wondering if it's worth it to just get a better one installed.

CS:GO is a CPU heavy game, I've read that. And I know the Ivy bridge can run at 85C...but I don't think it's healthy.

Can someone please advise?

geekdgreen

Honorable
Sep 26, 2012

http://youtu.be/XXs0I5kuoX4

geekdgreen

Honorable
Sep 26, 2012
instead of a $25 cooler invest in a $80 heatsink and you'll be happy. No offence 13thmonkey i previously had a 8120 setup and with a hyper 212 and my temps were still out of control when overclocked. Currently i have a noctua nh d14 with a i7 setup @ 4.4ghz and during prime 95 stress test for 12 hours my max temp was at 67c

I'm running a xigamtek achillies, not the greatest cooler, but keeps mine down.

the $illustration was more to say that the cooler doesn't have to be massively expensive. Also try the hyper 212 on the I7, and you'll get a very different result to the 212 on the 8120. the 8210 is a 125W cpu the i7 is 77W I believe.

geekdgreen

Honorable
Sep 26, 2012