Sign in with
Your question

Kinda Sad? :( AMD-8350

Last response: in CPUs
December 14, 2012 9:26:31 PM

So, I got all excited for the new Piledriver 8350, and I ordered it for Christmas. So now that's at my house, and under the tree waiting to be unwrapped. I'm having some pretty bad second thoughts. It's upsetting to me that the Piledriver is still vastly under performing as compared to Intel's offering especially against the 3570K.

Now granted I do video and graphics editing, and I am an engineer using Soldworks and Autocad, which needs a lot of multi-threading support.

And I did buy it for only $188.
And I'm pairing it with a Radeon 7870.

Anyone care to make me feel better about buying this chip? Cause I'm thinking about returning it back to the seller, then plopping down an extra $20 or so and then getting the 3570k. Or I can wait for Steamroller to come out, sell the 8350, and pray Steamroller is better?

More about : kinda sad amd 8350

a c 109 à CPUs
December 14, 2012 9:37:11 PM

The piledriver isn't far behind the i5, especially in gaming and mulit-threaded apps.

You can overclock it and get a lot of performance out of it, the 8350 would perform better in highly threaded apps.
m
l
a c 114 à CPUs
December 14, 2012 9:44:52 PM

Hi, What motherboard do you have? You can't use Intel or AMD with the same board.
m
l
a b à CPUs
December 14, 2012 9:45:25 PM

8350 is a good buy for multithreaded work loads. Not AS good a buy for gaming, but it gets the job done. Wish I had an 8 core for World Machine, I tell you what.
m
l
a c 79 à CPUs
December 14, 2012 9:45:39 PM

It's got 8 threads , how much would you have paid for 8 threads in a intel chip ? Plus like J said the piledriver OC's like a beast, I have seen 4.4 on the stock HS not that I recommend it.
m
l
December 14, 2012 9:46:34 PM

ASUS M5A99X EVO AM3+ AMD 990X SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
m
l
December 14, 2012 9:47:14 PM