Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Suggestions for a $2000 budget Gaming/Work PC

Last response: in Systems
August 1, 2012 2:56:05 AM

Hi, I am an avid gamer who has gotten into the art of 3d modeling. My current rig can't handle near to what I am hoping to achieve and holds me back too much. It's time for me to spoil myself and invest in a kickass machine! I'm quite new to building desktop PC's but I hope you all can help me choose my new workstation!

Approximate Purchase Date: Aiming for three weeks from now

Budget Range: $1800-2000 Total

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, 3D Modeling/Rendering, music, surfing the web, watching videos

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts to Upgrade: Everything but a mouse.

Do you need to buy OS: No
Please note that if you're using an OEM license of Windows, you will need a new one when buying a new motherboard.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com

Parts Preferences:
Video Card: Geforce GTX 680

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Yes

Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: I need a computer that can run any game coming out on the highest settings. I also need a computer that can render at a fairly quick speed, but nothing on the scale of production quality. Personally the looks don't matter too much to me nor does the noise it makes, but if possible the quieter obviously the better.

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: I've ran my current desktop computer into the ground. It's old, outdated, and I need to treat myself with a new quick and efficient system.
a c 118 B Homebuilt system
August 1, 2012 3:28:34 AM

My advice would be to get just one GTX 670 for now, you'll honestly be able to do all of those things with 1. If you really think you need a 2nd one, then you can go ahead and get the 2nd one later. Also, thats a good power supply, but more PSU than you really need for a dual 670 setup.

750 watt is plenty
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...