Is my graphics card broken?

G

Hello,

I recently built my first computer inc. (most importantly) a 650W PSU & 8GB of RAM.
Without my graphics card installed, all is well. I get the healthy beeps and I can enter the BIOS. I checked everything and it's all good, all ram recognized with the right freq etc.
Then I put in my graphics card. But now my I/O connectors don't get any signal - which might be normal with a GPU installed but as it's my first build I'm not sure if a GPU is suppposed to void the signal of the mobo's display connectors - so I plug in my hdmi cable into the GPU (R7850) and then into my tv (not monitor as it's old and only has VGA connectors which my graphics card does not have). I turn on, GPU fan and rest of fans spin & I get the mobo splash screen, but when I press any key to enter any of the options (BIOS, sys info, etc) I'm left with a blank, black screen, not 'no signal' just a black screen, I've tried the two different PCIE slots but it's the same with both.
I take the GPU out, and use the mobo I/O connectors and I can enter the BIOS again no problem.
Oh and I forgot to mention, After I press Del to enter the bios on my TV a little bar comes up that says 'DVI1' Even though I'm using an HDMI cable and the DVI connector on my GPU is not in use. Only including as might be relevant.

What are my options to solve this?

Thanks in advance.

G

Apologies,

CPU - Core i5 2500K @ 3.3Ghz 30 degree temp in BIOS
Mobo - Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H
RAM - 8GB corsair vengeance L.P, Dual channel DDR3
GPU - XFX R7850 Core
Arctic freezer i30 CPU air cooler - spins fine
HX650W Corsair PSU - All connectors checked to be fully inserted
DVD/RW optical drive
No kind of Hard drive/SSD plugged in as of yet.
No OS installed as of yet
No extras like a sound card either.
All housed in a Bitfenix Shinobi

richard694000

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2011