Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Graphics/Gaming PC for around $800

Last response: in Systems
August 1, 2012 8:48:26 PM

Hey everyone,

So my PC of 5 years died off on me, it was a great PC that I purchased from Best Buy, so I thought I'd get my new one from them too. Big mistake it seems, I purchased an Asus, intel i5, with 8 GB Ram, and I added a better PSU and an Nvidia 260GTS and the thing just overheats like crazy. I can't get it to stay on for longer then 20 min. Currently I have the tower open with a giant fan blasting into it, which seems to work, had it on all day with no issue, but this is certainly not a viable option, so I plan to return it.

I've never built a PC before, but I need a PC capable of working with graphics (Maya, Photoshop, etc) as well as some "casual" gaming (I don't mind playing on lower graphics in other words), so I thought now might be a good chance to build one.

---------------
Approximate Purchase Date: This Week or early next week at latest.

Budget Range:$800 after everything, I can go up slightly if must, but no more then another $50 or so.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Photoshop, 3D Modeling, Video Editing, Gaming.

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts to Upgrade: I don't know what this means. Parts I already have? If so, the only thing I might upgrade is my graphics card. I currently have a Nvidia 260GTX. If it's greatly suggested to upgrade it to something better I will, otherwise I might as well save some money already owning a graphics card.

Do you need to buy OS: Yes

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Whatever you guys suggest, I am a fan of newegg though.

Location: City, State/Region, Country - Las Vegas, Neveda, USA.

Parts Preferences: Intel processor, Nvidia for GPU if needed.

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No

Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080