Fast stress test failure

jbarcel

Honorable
Nov 14, 2012
I just assembled a new build, using the i5-2500k (and an Asrock Extreme4 Z77 motherboard, Radeon HD 7870 GPU, and 650W PSU). I'm fairly new to this, and I wanted to do a few preliminary tests to see if the CPU etc. were performing all right. The case is still open and a couple 120mm fans are running. I'm not overclocking, I'm using default BIOS settings, and I'm using the default CPU cooler.

When I loaded up OCCT's CPU: OCCT and CPU: LINPACK tests, they each fail within about 30 seconds. All four cores quickly and pretty equally climb up from the idle 25 C or so to about 85 C during that time period, and I get a "Core #2 over maximum value! Value Reached: 87, Max Value: 85" message at about 30 seconds. Or sometimes it's Core 1 that gets the message, although they're all about the same temperature. Running Prime95 results in the same thing happening in about the same time period, maybe even a little faster. I cut it off quickly when it reached 90 C. After a test is over, temps drop pretty quickly to the thirties, then a few minutes later the cores are down to about 25 C each.

Is this something to be highly worried about, considering that I'm not currently taking any special measures to get extra cooling? What do you think my next step should be?

jbarcel

Honorable
Nov 14, 2012
If I'm doing a couple medium-level things at once like installing a game from a DVD and running a full-system antivirus scan simultaneously, I get upper thirties on all cores, with Core 0 a little higher at maybe 40 C.