Sign in with
Your question

Help me out - Long time console gamer - first build - 3.5K Budget

Last response: in Systems
August 2, 2012 5:15:45 AM

Ok so I'm new to PC gaming but I've done a lot of research and a lot of saving I'm getting close to actually buying my first rig.

I Would really appreciate some feedback/suggestions. Here's what I got so far. I don't know enough to build my own so I'm thinking of getting through iBUYPOWER.

I am a big gamer and want my games to run at ultra knock your socks off performance. And also I work from home doing a lot of multimedia video editing and photoshopping. So those are my main needs.

Anyways here's my build.

Case: Corsair C70 - military green
Processor: Intel Core i7 3820
Advanced Noise Reduction
CPU Liquid Cooling w/ dual silent high performance fans
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16gb 4gbx4 DDR3 1600
Dual AMD 7970 CrossFire
Motherboard: Asus PX979
Power Supply: 1350 Watt Thermaltake Toughpower
Main Hard Drive: 1tb WD VelociRaptor HDD - 10000 RPM 6.0Gb/s
Data Hard Drive: 120Gb Intel 520 SDD- Read 550MB/s - Write 500MB/s
Optical Drive: 12x Pioneer Blu-Ray Re-Writer DVD-R/RW Combo Drive
Internal 12-in-1 flash media card reader/writer
Creative Labs Soundblaster X-fi Xtreme Audio

Thoughts? Suggestions? Anything at all would be appreciated. I've only owned Macs so far so this is all quite new and exciting.

August 2, 2012 5:26:35 AM

Waste of $ that PSU. You can get 2 GTX 670s for $100 less and they will perform around the same. X79 is for business or high-end computations, not for gaming or video editing. Just get an i7-3770k and ASRock Z77 Extreme4. Getting an SSD just for storage is a waste and not what SSDs are for right now. Get just a Crucial M4 128GB SSD and a 2TB Green drive for storage (they sell for $120). If it is Hydro coolers, just save your $. Get the Scythe Mugen 3 for CPU Cooling.
m
l
August 2, 2012 5:26:57 AM

fishhead617 said: