Sign in with
Your question
Solved

New to all this.... Need help

Last response: in Systems
August 3, 2012 2:33:44 AM

Hey everyone!

So I feel like getting into PC's and gaming on PC's now but I have no idea where to start or really anything about PC parts and components. So what im looking for is if someone can help me with picking parts (i.e pick parts for me :D ). Im looking to spend probably around $1200-1500.

Thanks for all the help.

More about : question

Best solution

August 3, 2012 3:14:49 AM

Hi there,

I'm a newbie too, well not really I was very into PC's at one stage, then came work...and when i decided to go back it was like OMG Pentium 4 now Ivy bridge WTF...

Anyways, so coming from a newbie like myself this is what I did to approach.

1. Determine what the PC is used for, now I know you stated gaming, but depends on what games, ie. FPS, RPG, etc what are the sort of requirements for those games, how important is graphics, latency, size of these games etc. Then other that that what else are you going to be using it for? just simple web browsing and social netorking, or doing a bit of video editing and imaging?

2. After you have determined that then with your budget, source out depending on which country you're from there will be computer stores or online stores that offer competitive prices. Ensure that you read up either on this forum or google where people usually get parts. If you do choose to buy parts online make sure to read reviews by people who have purchased it, I know there is a lot of people who post reviews about what they think of the product but don't actually own or use it. Since everyone is different dependent on their expectations and budget.

3. Essential parts to building a PC: