help in partitioning

oymd

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2001
hi all......
this is a damn basic question....but i aim to do it by myself...and i am new to hardware stuff....
i just bought a 40GB IBM HD 60 GXP...what's the best way to partition it....
my guess.......
1. just leave it as it is...all a `C`
2. 3 GB for the operating system and program files as C, and the rest as D for the data
3. i read earlier on this forum about something called a swap file...or virtual file....that should be about 1 GB to help the HD to act faster...but as i said i'm ignorant....

so any help as to what to do and how to do it ( in simple english ) would be greatly appreciated.....thanks..

madmike

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2001
IMHO the only reason to partition the drive is for orgnaization. I partition drives on my servers that use NT Backup to make it easier to back up data files. Data all goes on one (or more) partitions, and I back up the whole partition. I have two 40GB drives in a RAID 0 at home, and I have just one big partiton.