Sign in with
Your question

Rate/Advise on this gaming setup for 2012-2013?

Last response: in Systems
August 4, 2012 6:32:45 AM

Approximate Purchase Date: August 5-16, 2012

Budget Range: $1,000-1,500 Before rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, surfing the internet, watching movies, and lastly mild interest in game designing (hobby)

Parts Not Required: mouse

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, tigerdirect

Country: Purchasing in USA, do not know where parts are assembled as of yet

Parts Preferences : prefer intel, but price has influence

Overclocking: Maybe, leaning towards yes

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe (want to be able to use in future, single GPU for now)

Monitor Resolution: don't have monitor yet, leaning toward 1920x1080

Additional Comments: I would like a quiet PC, would like to be somewhat future proof for 2-3 years

Hello community,

I'm completely new to PC building, and this is my very first time trying to come up with a system. What I'm looking for is:
-a system that will last 3 years or more
-moderate to heavy gaming (I don't play every new game, have a rather small library but the little I have I game a lot on)
-would like to be able to upgrade if a new game or software comes out (don't need to go max)
-would like to be able to upgrade to 3D gaming when income becomes more expendable

I already did some research over the past few days and came up with the following setup:

Power supply: Ultra LSP 650W PSU
~$55

Motherboard: ASUS P8Z77-M Pro
~$150

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K, Newegg and Tigerdirect
~$220 ($210 w/ rebate)

HD: Crucial m4 256GB SSD, Newegg and Tigerdirect
~$210
Chose SSD for speed, and do not want to do RAID mode (unless there's a good enough counter argument). 250gb is good enough for now, will probably add more SSD when they go mainstream (and cheap).

RAM: Patriot G2 series 8GB DDR3 1600 Mhz, Newegg and Tigerdirect
~$47

Optic drive: Lite-On internal Blu-ray Burner
~$75

Extra fan: Corsair Hydro Series H60