Sign in with
Your question
Solved

HOW DOES THIS SOUNG FOR A GAMING PC?

Last response: in Systems
August 4, 2012 6:46:56 AM

ok so i'm going to build myself a gaming pc, because i want better graphics, better accuracy and more freedom than what i can achieve on console :)  +++ MODS This is my first build but i HAVE done lots of research XD
So here's my components...

CPU: i7 3820
MOBO: Asrock x79 extreme 7
GPU: Gigabyte GTX 680
RAM: Corsair vengeance 16GB 1600MHz
HDD: Western Digital 1TB 7200rpm
PSU: corsair HX650
CASE: Haf x nvidia edition
CPU COOLER: corsair H100
OPTICAL DRIVE: Lite on dvd/rw 24x

Firstly, I KNOW 16GB RAM IS OVERKILL FOR GAMING!!! But i am going to be doing video editing aswell so yea :p 
secondly, i will have to get a higher wattage PSU if i go sli...
thirdly, PLZ TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK :)  I am getting my parts from msy (IN AUSTRALIA) And the total price is around $2000
I checked on newegg and it came aroung at $1700 for the exact same system spec :(  Shame... So lz leave feedback guys!

More about : soung gaming

Best solution

August 4, 2012 7:12:55 AM

you dont need 16GB of ram 8GB is more then enough. but everything else is awsome you must be rich lol

-EDIT- Sorry i didnt see you were doing video editing lol go with 16GB i geuss ?
August 4, 2012 7:19:02 AM

Best answer selected by bayman115.
Related resources
August 4, 2012 7:21:27 AM

gibbls said:
you dont need 16GB of ram 8GB is more then enough. but everything else is awsome you must be rich lol

-EDIT- Sorry i didnt see you were doing video editing lol go with 16GB i geuss ?

Yea i have been saving for AGES! It i was originally going to go with 8GB ram but im going to do gameplay's and video editimg and stuff like that so yea :)  I read somewhere that most games are only 32 bit meaning they will NEVER even use over 2gb ram lol XD So yea 16gb is overkill...
And by no means am i rich AT ALL! I'm paying for all of it so that kinda sucks lol :( 
August 4, 2012 7:24:39 AM

Bayman115 said: