Choosing my first GPU.....

supedaw

Honorable
Jun 13, 2012
Hi all

I'm looking at boosting my GPU power for some pretty mid range gaming. Dont need unbelievable perfect graphics but would like to run some higher end games pretty compitantly, though I've never done it before and trying to work out everything can be pretty confusing.
I'm looking at an ATI Radeon HD 6850, its within my price range and as far as I can tell pretty much what I need.
I've a feeling my motherboard, a Asus P8H61-M LE/USB3 Basic Micro ATX Motherboard, will be limiting me a bit here though, some advice on this would be greatly appreciated.
I'd be willing to stretch to a new motherboard if it was worth it though I havnt got a clue where to start.
All this running with an Interl i-1500k at 3.3 GHz by the way!

Thanks very mucvh for any help on this!

akxpckwb

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2012
The only drawback I could see from using that motherboard is that it does not allow overclocking nor Crossfire/SLI so if you're not planing to use either of those technologies then no harm done

Your motherboard is not holding you back if the HD 6850 is the max your budget will allow you to spend for a graphics card.

What is the resolution of your monitor?

What do you have for a PSU?

supedaw

Honorable
Jun 13, 2012
PSU is a EZCool Basic 500W and the screen res is 1920×1080@60Hz on a 22" monitor, though I sometimes find myself sticking a HDMI adaptor on the DVI and playing it through a big 32" Samsung LED TV!

Your PSU looks like this?
2349-2.jpg

supedaw

Honorable
Jun 13, 2012
Right okay, thanks very much!
I'll go ahead and give it a whirl then, but I'll remember to upgrade the PSU and the monitor if I need a bit more edge!

Thanks very much for your help, really cleared things up.

supedaw

Honorable
Jun 13, 2012
just the stock intel graphics card, I decided to save on that when buying with the plan to upgrade later, so this is my first independently bought GPU.

supedaw

Honorable
Jun 13, 2012