Rookie looking to upgrade to 64-bit OS and change hardware accordingly

Dahamuran

Honorable
Aug 4, 2012
Hey all,

I bought an Alienware computer back in early 2008 and its done me very well. I've been thinking of upgrading my Windows 7 OS from 32bit to 64bit and want to upgrade my computer accordingly to take advantage of the 64bit architecture. As the subject line says, I am a rookie to hardware upgrades (why I bought an Alienware :) ) and have only really replaced my graphics card on my own (since my previous one died).

My current specs from speccy:
Operating System
MS Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit SP1

CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 @ 2.66GHz 47 °C
Kentsfield 65nm Technology

RAM
3.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 400MHz (5-5-5-16)

Motherboard
alienware alienware (Socket 775) 21 °C
Chipset Model: nForce 680i SLI SPP
Southbridge Model: nForce 680i SLI MCP

Graphics
SyncMaster (1680x1050@59Hz)
896MB GeForce GTX 260 (nVidia) 61 °C

Hard Drives
233GB Seagate ST325041 0AS SCSI Disk Device (ATA)

Optical Drives
HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GSA-H55N ATA Device

Audio
Creative X-Fi Audio Processor (WDM)

Approximate Purchase Date: Sometime in the next few months

Budget Range: The cheaper the better but I'm thinking no more than a few hundred dollars.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, word processing, internet surfing, main computer of the family

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts to Upgrade: Hoping you all will answer that (What needs to be upgraded to really take advantage of 64bit or am I already there?). The only area I'm sure needs love is the RAM since I heard you really need 4gb of ram to take advantage of 64bit.

Do you need to buy OS: No, I think my Windows 7 32bit license is good for the 64bit version too

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Any suggestions?

Parts Preferences: Anything that is compatible with my current equipment

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Your Monitor Resolution: 1680x1050

Additional Comments: I'd appreciate any help!