Tags:
  • Build
  • Gaming
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
August 5, 2012 1:57:18 AM

Hi all,

I used to build a long time ago; but have been out of the game for awhile and have no idea what is compatible with what or what is good at all. I have been using a hand me down low end gaming machine for the past 5 years and it's finally hit it's last leg (Crashes trying to play D3 and almost anything else is just too much. I can play WoW on low settings; but that doesn't say much).

I am looking to put together a rig hopefully by the beginning to middle of October this year. I am looking to do gaming mostly, listen to music (I have a large collection), and surf around YouTube and the likes. My budget is going to be approximately $650. The games I play / plan on playing are WoW, Diablo III, Borderlands 1 & 2, Arma II Day Z, and will probably get talked into Skyrim and MW3 eventually. I have a Western Digital WD1001FALS 7200 RPM 1TB drive I can move over, I have Windows 7, and an Acer x223w monitor that supports 1680x1050 @ 60 HZ; short of that I would like to just go fresh on everything else, including the case. I don't need a Blu-Ray drive unless the cost would be stupid not to buy one; I still burn CDs and DVDs so I would like a combo drive.

As far as the case; something simple would be good. If at all possible, I've always wanted an LCD info panel on the front of the computer that tells cpu temp/percentage, network up/down, and others. If it can't be done within my price range; that is fine. Also, my house is not air conditioned in the summer and often runs about 85F inside; so I may need some extra fans?