Sign in with
Your question
Solved

~$1,000 Best Value Gaming & Coding PC

Last response: in Systems
August 5, 2012 6:32:10 AM

Seeking advice on my nearly complete build picks.
This is my first build ever by the way; very limited hardware knowledge. Mostly just picked based on PassMark benchmarks, Tom's Hardware's Reviews & Forums, and 4+/5 customer ratings.

Approximate Purchase Date: this week month.

Budget Range: $1,000 (or a little over) Before Rebates and After Shipping. (Excluding monitor.)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Coding.

Are you buying a monitor: Yes, but later.

Parts to Upgrade: Everything - First build ever.

Do you need to buy OS: No.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com, amazon.com, microcenter.com.

Parts Preferences: CPU: Intel; GPU: nvidia. Whichever brand is: 1. The most reliable and 2. Gives best value for the money.

Overclocking: Maybe, but only when really desperate... just before that next upgrade.

SLI or Crossfire: Yes, but same condition as overclocking. (Not now.)

Your Monitor Resolution: The best HD gaming/HTPC monitor for the money.

Additional Comments: Just want the best reliability/longevity and performance for the money.

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: GPU to run current games on max like SR3, GTA IV, BF3, Crysis 2, Shogun 2 and upcoming games like GTA V, Black Ops II, and maybe Unreal-based Games. Decrease large code compile / 3D content rendering time (e.g.: compiling Google Chrome or UDK Game). Increase productivity with fast SSD.

Hopefully the parts will last me around 5+ years or until I can't run my favorite games on low settings with at least 30 FPS or can't compile huge 10GB+ (e.g.: Google Chrome) code within an hour.

My picks:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($189.99 @ Microcenter)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.99 @ Newegg)