Noticeable coil whine goes away when games are minimized?

zvmanning

Honorable
Aug 5, 2012
Yeah i spend a lot of money on this dekstop and it irritates me. It's my first build with the Sapphire Radeon HD 7970. I would think hey since a lot of people have it, it's probably ok. Not the case with me, the coil whine stops when i minimize games so it seems like a bigger problem. I have been thinking about RMA and even switching for the gtx680. Or a new 7970 all together. Any thoughts? I have a video clearly letting you hear the sound difference when games are up and minimized. The link is hurr

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bOFmgZ3EsAQ was taken with my iPhone so forgive the weird angle, listen to that though i think it's pretty obvious. Friends telling me they can't hear it yet they are not in the room and not sitting next to it

Build: NZXT Phantom case, CORSAIR builder series 600w 80 plus PSU, ASRock Z77E-ITX LGA 1155 Intel Z77, 2400 i5 processor, x G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB, andddd yeah

It's been up and running for weeks now. Took awhile to figure out how to get this beast working. I'm just wondering if coil whine should be happening like this in a 1700$ build. I took the 1000$ off the site and improved the specs because i didn't like the ones they gave. Help =( i researched the coil whine as best i could but nothing specific to whats happening is out there. If this is normal and is not damaging to the hardware than i don't care honestly but if ends up breaking when the return date is not valid i would be very upset......

Solution

Okay, most motherboards will auto change to onboard graphics if the discrete is not present unless you set it to be fixed in BIOS. Just in case this is true, get your motherboard manual (physical or internet by model number on the manufacturer's website), and...

duxducis

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2007
and that sound coming from GPU? Only time i herd something like that it was inside defective PSU