Questions on possibly building a computer ($500-$600 range)

eterniawolf

Honorable
Aug 6, 2012
So before I post the information on the sticky, I have a few questions. I have never built a computer before, and I want to make sure it's something I can do. If not, I'll just be buying another desktop computer.

1. Other than putting the parts together, will I have to do anything else? I do not have any special tools. The most I have are screw drivers and hammers, lol.

2. If I do have to use special tools, then I will be buying a desktop PC in the $500 to $600 range (unless the special tools are something simple I can do). So if I cannot put together my own PC, could someone recommend me one?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here's my information:

Approximate Purchase Date: August 20th (or maybe a tiny bit before)

Budget Range: $500 to $600. I MIGHT be able to squeeze $700. It's all going to depend on how much stuff I need for school. But around $550 to $600 total is what I'm aiming for. If I could do $500, that would be even better. But I know even $500 won't happen, lol.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Graphic editing programs (Photoshop and Paint Tool Sai), Gaming, watching movies, surfing internet.

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts to Upgrade: Um...I have an an old 7 year old desktop computer. Will I be able to take the DVD drives from it? One is a DVD burner and one is a DVD reader. I highly doubt I could reuse anything else (maybe the hard drive, but I want something bigger than 200 GB, lol). The computer is a Gateway 506GR ( http://support.gateway.com/s/PC/R/3724/4367sp3.shtml )

Do you need to buy OS: Sort of. I have a copy of Windows XP I can use, and then I could upgrade to Windows 7 through a school discount. My school sells upgrade disks super cheap ($27.00). Could I do that?