Sign in with
Your question

PSU, power, and data loss

Last response: in Components
December 21, 2012 5:06:59 PM

Hello,
I'm not a pro, but a hobbyist who manages to keep everyone's PCs and laptops running well and clean, and I've done some upgrading and repairs. So please be patient with my lack of expertise.

My aunt's desktop, used mainly by my teen-aged niece who loves to download crap, was dead: no power at all, no beeps, no lights on MOBO. Turns out her kittens peed on the power strip & cord; it worked when I took it home and plugged it in with my cord. There was very loud buzzing and other noise coming out of the PSU, which she said had been going on for months.

Grateful to have it powered up, I used avast, malwarebytes, and revo uninstaller to clean up the tons of junk and malware. HOWEVER, at restart, it was as if I had done a clean reinstall of the OS. No personal settings, no saved files. All programs were back to "Welcome to..."

I enjoyed making it all like new for her again and setting it up for easier, safer use. Then the power supply finally died, which I've researched how to replace and I'm sure I can do.

My main questions: Is there any way to get her photos back from the hard drive? Why would the system roll back to new like that under these circumstances?
Any input will be greatly appreciated.

The machine is about 3 years old and out of warranty: emachines et1161-07, Vista Home Premium SP1

More about : psu power data loss

a b ) Power supply
December 21, 2012 5:28:27 PM

Hi,
Hard to say what happened. Most probably registry entries deleted. Were all photos saved in the My documents folder?
Can you use a "Undelete"/Recovery application?
m
l
December 28, 2012 12:12:03 AM

alexoiu said:
Hi,
Hard to say what happened. Most probably registry entries deleted. Were all photos saved in the My documents folder?
Can you use a "Undelete"/Recovery application?

Sorry, I just got the email notification of your reply.