Nividia Driver 301.40 help

euansharp

Honorable
May 14, 2012
Hi Guys

I was wanting to try the Nividia beta 301.40 drivers (64 bit) but when I downloaded them from Guru3D via Zoom downloader they came as a .php file. I am no expert on file formats and was wondering how I would go about installing these drivers.

Cheers for any help.

Solution
G
yeas, core/clock speed.
it seems as much as nVidia did nice to make the clock speed dynamic depending on the gpu usage to keep the power consumption down while idling and boost to help increase performance appears to have some flonky incidentals.

it might be a benefit to keep an eye on the temps and experiment with the fan speed. if you notice a drop in performance at a given temp it might indicate how you are running into issues.

euansharp

Honorable
May 14, 2012
Thanks I had read that 301.42 was not very good so was looking to find a better driver for my card. right now I am using 301.34 which seems to be working fine but not using the card to its fullest potential. Oh well guess I will wait for the next official driver to be released. Curious why Guru3D gave me a .php file if I cant use it.

G

somehow you seemed to have downloaded the page and not the driver, no idea how that happen to you.

what card do you have, also if it's not broke don't fix it. i have rolled back to the last good driver for myself countless times because i keep hoping the next would be better. if you really do want to try the
BETA version; it is there on the download page under Beta, Older drivers and more.

euansharp

Honorable
May 14, 2012
I just ran msi kombustor I had a gpu load of around 97% to 99% with pretty much the same gpu usage with an fps of 150 but when I play a game like skyrim on ultra that stars off at around 70 fps drops to an average of 50fps or lower. The gpu usage is also very low starting at 40% and dropping to the twenties. My cpu is an i52500K no overclocking. Any idea why this might happen I believed it was a driver issue.