Sign in with
Your question
Solved

New Build $1500-$2000 help please

Last response: in Systems
August 8, 2012 7:35:32 PM

Hello,

I am a university student in Canada and I am planning on building my first gaming pc in four months, after a paid co-op position. I plan to use Christmas/Boxing Day/New Years sales to find the best price for each part. Can you help me choose parts? I am going to try to keep it around $17-$1800 CDN after tax(13%) but if the pre-sale price is closer $2000 I can probably find sales/talk stores down to a more reasonable price.

There are a few specs that I would like, but if there is good reasoning behind it, I am fully willing to change anything.

- Case: I would like to use the Antec DF-85 case, I like the way it looks, and comes with seven fans
- RAM: I am undecided on 8GB(2x4GB) or 16GB(not sure if 4x4GB or 2x8GB)
- CPU: From what I have found so far, AMD has the best bang for the buck and was thinking of the FX-8150 or the newest one when I buy this in Dec/Jan
- MB: only preference is color: red/black(matches case, and looks cool to me)
- Closed loop liquid cooling would be nice to have
- HD 2TB and SSD ~100GB, no preference for brand
- Graphics: no real preference, maybe slightly towards Radeon, but don't care if its SLI/Crossfire or not (what are the pros/cons of this)
- PSU: Antec as the CP-1000 which is made for the case, but not much preference here besides having a good 80 plus rating

My current wish list is:
Prices from newegg.ca

Case: Antec DF-85 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Full Tower Computer Case (159.99)
MB: ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard (234.99)
CPU: AMD FX-8150 Zambezi 3.6GHz Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core Desktop Processor FD8150FRGUBOX (189.99) (newegg has a combo of MB+CPU for $20 off)
Graphics: ASUS HD7950-DC2-3GD5 Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card (379.99)