Closed Solved

How is the i5-3570k at video editing?

I would also be using a GTX 670 while amateur video editing (using HD footage) on Adobe Premiere CS6. I was about to buy my build (http://pcpartpicker.com/p/uir7 if you're curious) but I just got the opinion on not buying the i5-3570k. It's currently late to make the change to an AMD counterpart as I'm a LOT more comfortable with my knowledge of Intel CPUs and I'm buying the build tonight. I was just hoping that the i5-3570k (alone or with the GTX 670) would be satisfactory.
answers
Last reply
Best Answer
More about 3570k video editing
  1. The Intel Core i5 3570K is a great choice due to the fact it has HD 4000 graphics to help shorten rendering times - but find out about the application you use, maybe it'll benefit more from having more threads, if thats the case you may want a 3770K.
  2. Oh okay thank gosh. You just alleviated a lot of my stress (I'm a first time builder and I'm pulling the trigger tonight). I did hear a bunch of positive things about going to the 3770K for video editing but should I sacrifice the 120GB SSD that I have (So I would only have 1 HDD) to generate the funds to make the CPU improvement? Do you think it's worth it? My priorities is that I wouldn't mind a few more seconds of rendering time each time if it meant I'd save $100 on the CPU. And what if I put the program (Adobe Premiere CS6) on the SSD? Would that help more?
  3. Best answer
    If you're using Adobe programs for video editing, you may wanna go & jump for the 3770K - but then again, SSDs help a lot, maybe you could drop the HDD for now, find one around your house to use temporarily or just buy one a few weeks/months down the road?
    EDIT: I would only recommend the 3770K if you're very serious about doing video editing very often honestly. If once in a while, you'll probably just wanna stick with that 3570K.