Complete System - Make Suggestions or Use my Spec

Top Hunter

Honorable
Aug 11, 2012
Edit 8/16: Updated motherboard, heat sink, HDD, PSU, and case based on recommendations and research. Updated the budget build to save another $134!

Hi everyone,

This is my first attempt at building a computer in probably over 10 years, and I've been working on this build and learning about current tech all this week. These forums and the Tom's Hardware reviews and charts have been immensely helpful, and most of my questions were already answered. Mad props to all of you.

Thus I present my build to you guys for critique and potential improvement. If you have suggestions for anything at all: matching relative hardware performance, potential bottlenecks, the case it all goes in, thoughts on how well the build fits the theme, please say what you will. If you just want someone to do the work for you to research a homebuilt machine, obviously feel free to use this one. I'll try to keep it updated with suggestions.

The theme of my build is a performance gaming machine with a few guiding principles:

[strike]1. Stock Cooling - I don't want to go crazy with cooling solutions on my first go. That means no SLI/Crossfire, no overclocking, and a case that will do most of the work for me. My intent is that stock fans should be sufficient.[/strike] After multiple urgings to be more proactive, I decided that a minimal investment in additional cooling is a prudent move. Obviously you can invest more if you wish.

2. Tier 2-3 Components - This build does get a little greedy to get higher end gear and nice toys, but not so much so as to make the price tag completely unattainable.

3. Moderate Future-Proofing - Just because I don't want to overclock or multi-GPU now doesn't mean I won't want to later. Once I'm more comfortable with PC building, I'd like the option to start to go nuts with taxing my hardware and having the room to install the requisite cooling.