New multi purp rig, opinions welcome, ty.

forerunner

Honorable
Jun 2, 2012
Hello,

Im frustrated with my unstable am2+ rig so im going to upgrade to a whole new machine.

Ive been using AMD since 2006 and i feel, its time to try something new. This is what im thinking about going with.

Intel i5 2500k cpu
Asus Sabertooth z77 mobo
Corsair Vengeance 2x8gig Ram
Seagate baracuda 1.5 tb hdd ( I alread have a OCZ vertex 3 SSD 120g for windows.)

Also i already have a XFX 6850 HD, and im unsure of what to do. either, im going to just stick with the one card, because spending 400 for a good 7k series isnt really worth the small upgrade to me, or get another 6850 for less than 150 and take on the woes of a crossfire rig, but at least i could just turn one off if i need to. Problem is, Newegg doesnt have the exact same 6850 i have, it has a newer one thats got 2x 6 pin connectors and 2 fans. so if i did get one of these would it be "kosher" to use the one with dual fans and 2x pcie connectors with the 1x1 card i have already? i figure that would be better than getting a difference brand at least.

Also. I have two psu's right now, a couple year old Corsair stealthxstream? or something like that 650w psu and i just bought that 64$ Ultra 750w that ppl on newegg seem to swear by. I could just use this Ultra, but idk something about it just feels, well cheap? idk something about 78% effeciency rubs me the wrong way. just says... "meh, it works.." you know?

so if not that i was looking at the Corsair XT 750w one for 150 on newegg. looks like its decent at least.

Well, other than a case and a coolermaster heatsink i think thats pretty much it. Besides a 23.6 inch asus monitor for another 150 and a MW3 edition (cheaper) logitech g9x mouse for another 60.

The running total in my cart is $1,289.00 cost isnt really an issue but i would like to save what i could i guess.