Any advice on building a pc

RethKang

Honorable
Aug 12, 2012
Thinking of building my own pc. I have very little knowledge of building and components. What I basically need is a computer that will be fast at multitasking/ NOT GAMING. Mostly browsing the internet/ school. Would like the videos to look clear but doesnt have to be top of the line gaming. I want something that i can always upgrade." keep adding as i go" such as graphic cards, memory, but for now i want something that i can do homework and browse quickly without lag. So to start with im noy too concerned about sound, graphics, too much memory, etc. just say ill be on google and microsoft word most of the time. Want it fast though. If anyone understands any of what i wrote and can help guide me, please reply.

RethKang

Honorable
Aug 12, 2012
For components that i need in the beginning, i would want really high performance/ good quality parts so i wont have to waste money to upgrade later. I am also not in a big rush. I want to do this step by step and get it right if possible. Can you tell me the steps i should take? Componentwise.

upgrades and computers is a little misleading right now. the problem there is both amd and intel every 8 months or so are switching cpu slots. intel haswell cpu going to have 1150 pins and newer amd chips are going to be on the fm-2 slots.
the trick now is to use your build dollars as well as you can so the system will last a few years. and your only swapping out some ram or a video card or a fail part if one fails. For speed you want to have a ssd boot drive. 8g of ram for any system now is going to be fine. you can save money by using an amd cpu chip that has a good gpu build it. it wont be a good gaming system but it be good for word and web. on the intel side a z77 mb and and i3 ib cpu (new ones are out in two weeks. (about 120.00) price point. toss in a nvidia 550ti or the 640/650 card and you have an office pc and light gaming pc that last you a long time.