Sign in with
Your question

more memory jump

Tags:
Last response: in Memory
Anonymous
a b } Memory
August 27, 2001 1:38:44 PM

I'm thinking of buying another stick of 256MB memory to add to my existing 256mb basically becuase the price is so low. I'm just wondering if this will help at all or if its just better to stay with 256MB. I figured in the future I could most likely use being that all the Microsoft OS increase in resource hogging but I'm not really sure. Also, does anybody know about future prices for PC2100 DDR ram.

My other question is about the timings. Right now I have them set at 8 8 6 2 2 2 2. It's Crucial memory PC2100. do I have to change these timings if I add more memory? Also, about the motherboard. I have an MSI k7master. Does anybody know if any instabilities with having two sticks of memory instead of only one. So far I've had no issues with this board but I don't want to introduce anymore. Any input is much appreciated

More about : memory jump

August 27, 2001 5:52:34 PM

I read from some where state that the price of RAM will start to increase when Microsoft start selling Windows XP.
Anonymous
a b } Memory
August 28, 2001 12:23:51 AM

256mb is ok for just surfin and general apps', if you play games, edit photo's etc its worth having more.
M$ is a big memory hog, more ram you have the more it wants... you can do a few things to fix it and try some programs that optimize memory.

Nice to have Crucial, get another stick of the exact same flavour, set cas timming defaults and work it back to where you had it after you know yer stable. Shouldnt be a problem with crucial though. Check your handbook to see if you need to have registered memory for both slots (doubt it).

Medication helps :smile:
<font color=blue>THG needs 2 change the sig' of the week errrr century!</font color=blue>
Related resources
August 29, 2001 2:50:26 AM