Sign in with
Your question

Building a home theater/gaming computer

Last response: in Systems
August 15, 2012 4:42:32 AM

I've never built a computer before but I am pretty computer savvy. I've done some research and decided it's something I can easily handle. The project is an all-out high end everything pc. Not only will I be playing games on it but I would also like it to double as my DVR and have surround sound. My main screen will be my 62 inch flatscreen, but I would also like another(possibly big screen) tv to run the computer on while my wife watches tv, or just to have dual-monitors while on the computer. I understand that if I have a tv tuner to dvr with I need to watch it through the computer, but if I have some kind of a/b switch could I turn it back into running through the cable box so I can use the computer? Or is it possible to run dual monitors, one with the tv on and one just the desktop? Assuming we're watching tv through the computer most of the time I would like a decent surround sound system running all the time.

I've looked through plenty of components since I decided to do this and it's pretty overwhelming so I would appreciate any help choosing what anyone thinks the best are and how I should set this up. I understand the putting together of all the parts, but I would like some input on how to run the tv tuner/video card(s) and sound card/surround sound with what I had described.

I hope what I'm looking for isn't too impossible but I've dreamt of such a system for many years. I appreciate any help anyone can give!

Thanks,
-Mark

Approximate Purchase Date: Probably one piece a week starting a month from now.

Budget Range: Non-issue. If it gets to be more than 3 or 4 thousand without the second big screen I might consider keeping it down a little but I am looking for a high-end machine and I know it doesn't come cheap.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Watching tv(dvr)/gaming/surfing the internet