Sign in with
Your question

Where do i attach my anti static wrist strap?

Last response: in Components
December 30, 2012 12:13:09 PM

hey, I've just ordered my computer build and a anti static wrist strap but i have, no idea where to connect it?

My radiators are all painted and my case has a full painted black inside and outside..

So where should i attach it to? i want to use one because this is my first build and i don't want to mess it up! better to be safe then sorry.
December 30, 2012 12:26:26 PM

to your wrist lol

also to any BARE metal part in the case...
December 30, 2012 12:57:09 PM

Yup, make sure the cord is plugged into the PSU, and the plug from the power lead is plugged into the wall socket ,but is turned off at the wall socket switch, to give you a good ground.
Related resources
December 30, 2012 1:35:54 PM

attach wrist strap clip to the metal rim of the case while as weaselman said "make sure the cord is plugged into the PSU, and the plug from the power lead is plugged into the wall socket ,but is turned off at the wall socket switch, to give you a good ground."
December 30, 2012 4:04:47 PM

okay thanks, but in my case everythings painted...?
December 30, 2012 7:38:00 PM

also my radiators painted too...
December 30, 2012 8:38:12 PM

adamyjake said:
also my radiators painted too...

Use a wrist strap if that is what you are most comfortable with, but I personally don't use a wrist strap. Just be super careful - touch another grounded surface periodically (if you have another computer nearby that will do); don't shuffle around in tube socks; if you have a humidifier, run it to increase the humidity in the room. If you have cats, then lock them in a bathroom or something, because otherwise they will get curious about what you are doing and walk all over your components.

December 30, 2012 9:43:55 PM

adamyjake said:
also i've been told not to connect the powersupply and turn it off.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKnbazLsM7g