AMD CPU Cooling Problem

Tags:
  • Cooler Master
  • Components
  • Product
Last response: in Components
December 31, 2012 12:42:05 AM

Hello Tom's Hardware Forum,

While I frequent these forums for help on any computer problem I encounter, this is my first time posting anything on your forums, so here I go...

I have a Tuniq 3 Gaming case w/ an AMD 955BE (stock, 3.2GHz), Hyper N520 Heatsink, GTX570 MDT, 16GB DDr3 RAM. I have 5 case fans, 3 front intakes, 1 side panel exhaust, 1 rear exhaust. However, my 955BE tends to hit 58-59C while under load (like BF3). My idles are anywhere from 36-40C. The Hyper N520 I use is clean as a whistle (I clean out dust every month or so,) and I even replaced the stock thermal paste with Arctic Silver 5. No matter what I do, nothing seems to lower my temperatures. My room is about 76F average, and my computer sits in an open space with lots of open air around it.

I did research on the Hyper N520 before I bought it and I was expecting about 50C-ish temperatures under load, but 58-59C is dangerously close to the maximum rated temperature of 62C. During the summer when it's hotter, I have hit and exceeded that limit, and I needed to shut down the computer to prevent damage.

I can't afford a new Heatsink for a while and I am using every single fan mount in my case. I'm looking for any and all possible advice as to why I can't bring temperatures down.

Thanks so much guys,
Johnny

More about : amd cpu cooling problem

December 31, 2012 12:56:35 AM

Can you tell us your fan layout in your case.
Like how many Intake u have and how many outtake's. And where are they placed
m
l
December 31, 2012 1:03:16 AM

All my case fans are 120mm as that's all my case will take.