Sign in with
Your question

Building Computers for Clients - I'm a noob

Last response: in Components
December 31, 2012 5:16:24 AM

I have just recently built my new computer and really enjoyed it, and just yesterday a close friend came to my house with his PC and I fixed his awful cable management.
Being very experienced with hardware (Knowing what to buy and what not to buy, Price/performance ratios) and now having the experience with putting together multiple computers, a new idea came to me. Building computers for clients. I want extra cash for the things I want but I'm scared to go into this business. Let me be honest now....

I've never worked before and have no experience with any business. Why? I'm 15, almost 16.... but my age is besides the point (I'm quite mature for my age anyway). All i want to know is the basics. What to do, what not to do, things to watch out for, reasonable amounts to charge without being a rip off, and how to actually get people to want my services instead of buying a computer from best buy or some Alienware thats way too overpriced. Not to mention, how do I get people to know about me? What I'm hoping for is to build nice computers for people so they save money and for me to get a good amount of bank myself....(since building a computer is cheaper than buying one, could i build a 700$ PC for a guy who wants it to be up to par with a 1700$ pre-built pc *EXAMPLE* and charge 850-900$ to keep about 150-200$? would that be considered a ripoff?)

Help would be definitely appreciated, so please share with me what you have to say!

Thanks,
-Daniel
December 31, 2012 5:31:36 AM

"Building computers for clients" and "I'm a noob" are two phrases that don't go well together. Exactly how many systems have you built?
December 31, 2012 5:40:14 AM