Sign in with
Your question

My graphics card is Dying??

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
June 27, 2012 10:28:42 AM

Hey everyone, need some urgent help.

I had a pc made about a year and 2 months ago, mainly for gaming. Over the last year the only thing iv changed is the PSU and the Case, which required me to take everything apart and rebuild into the new case.

The last few weeks, iv been suffering really bad issues with my computers performance while gaming, and over the last 2 days, it has got to a point where i cant run Battlefield 3 at all, as the framerate is jumping from 20 down to 2/3 at times. Now im no tech expert, so i would REALLY like so help on how i can go about finding and fixing the problem.

Iv been cleaning out the fna on my GPU and heatsink, and even though i keep them well ventilated, the GPU temp goes over 60 degrees when i try to run BF3, not that i can anymore as it just freezes up. temps at idle are as follows:

GPU: 50 degrees
CPU: 38 degrees
MB: 28 degrees
Core+ HDD: 30 degrees each

Not sure what to make of the temps, as im no hardware analysis expert, but the GPU seems like its way too hot for idle.

i run a ATI 5770 with the stock heatsink and fan, and i think this GPU is dying/overheating. I am a complete novice at these things, and have never replaced a graphics card heatisnk/fan or applied thermal paste, but if that is the cheap solution to this problem, i would be happy to try it.

If you need anymore info on my pc, please ask, as i am very hopeful someone on these forums can help me out. Right now, i cant play any games, as the framerate just dies and im scared it will kill my already dying GPU.