Pro photographer looking for best possible build for my needs under 6k

ahphoto

Honorable
Aug 16, 2012
(Sorry ahead of time for a pretty detailed, lengthy post)
I'm a professional photographer in desperate need of a new desktop computer and am hoping to get some help with a custom build here. I've got literally hundreds of thousands of photos that I've shot with my Canon 5D Mark II (as well as HD videos) that have been piling up over the last few years because my computer can't keep up with the editing/processing and I haven't been able to afford a new machine until recently now that I've saved up some money.

These are the specs of my current 4.5-year-old machine. The biggest problem is that using any of my photo editing/managing software (Photoshop CS5, Adobe Bridge CS5, Photomatix Pro 4.2, Lightroom 3.6) will often result in a crash, even when run alone with nothing else open. Here's an example of what I run into on a daily basis with this computer. That's a screenshot from earlier today while I was researching PC components, none of my photo editing software was open during that, but that's the sort of thing I get all the time while using Photoshop etc.

Even besides the crashing, the computer I've got now is painfully slow at everything. Turning it on and fully booting up takes nearly 6 minutes, loading a folder of 480 photos in Adobe Bridge takes 7 and a half minutes and my scores with the Photoshop benchmark tests are pretty terrible (94.4 seconds on this test while most others seem to be getting results between 9 and 19 seconds, and 343.5 seconds with this one that most seem to get results between 135 and 165 seconds with). With hundreds of thousands of photos to edit and process, in addition to hundreds of 1080p HD videos from my camera that I can't even come close to editing or viewing, I need something *MUCH* faster, which is why I need a new machine and am willing to shell out a fair amount for one that's quality.