New Build with old parts - what should I upgrade?

dademurphy

Honorable
Aug 16, 2012
So - I'll start off by saying a friend had an HP with a hardware failure (I believe it was the PSU) and he did not want to invest any money into fixing the thing (he says he sick of his PCs getting viruses so hes going to buy Apple from now - he also blames the nonexistent virus on the demise of the computer) so he gave it to me. I have now purchased a number of new components with really only the Motherboard and CPU to upgrade at this point. I used a couple of SSDs and Hdds I had laying around to cut down on expenditure.

Approximate Purchase Date: e.g.: Sooner or later depending on my upgrade path

Budget Range: $400-$700

System Usage from Most to Least Important: I am an IT professional and I would like to use the rig for a variety of things including (but not limited to); photoshop, sql server, Running Multiple VMs, Gaming at highest settings. I am currently able to max out Batman Arkham City, Crysis 2 and Witcher 2 (minus Ubersampling) with pretty good framerates.

Are you buying a monitor: In the future

Parts to Upgrade: CPU, mobo & probably RAM

Do you need to buy OS: No - Have windows 7 Ultimate

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: I buy most of my parts from Newegg or Amazon or wherever has the good deal

Parts Preferences: I prefer to stick with Intel motherboard/CPU

Overclocking: Yes

SLI or Crossfire: Yes but not right now

Your Monitor Resolution: 1920 x 1080 X2 at the moment but planning on a third soon

Rosewill THOR V2-White Edition
Pegatron IPISB-CU Motherboard HP Carmel2 1155 H61*
Pentium G620*
8 GB Crucial Ballistix 1333
GIGABYTE Geforce GTX 670 Windforce OC 2GB
Antec NEO ECO 620W
OCZ Agility 4 128GB
OCZ Agility 4 256GB
Seagate Momentus 500GB 2.5

(items marked with an asterix are original components from the HP desktop I was given)

Excluding the items I had laying around (2 SSDs, 1 Hdd, Mobo, CPU), I have a pretty decent build for a little less than $600.