Sign in with
Your question

New homebuilt gamingpc - Will those parts work correctly?

Last response: in Systems
August 17, 2012 3:19:54 PM

Hello everyone!

This is my first build, my previous computer (and also the first in my life) was a Dell XPS.
It was a quite nice pc, but now for my next one (this barely can run BF3), I want to build it myself, because it's much cheaper (and fun).
I've searched a lot about it, if it all fits and so, but I'm not 100% sure, I'd like to ask from all of you if it would at least run, and if some parts would run better (like MSI videocard in place of Asus and so on).
I live in the Netherlands and will buy everything from here, so the prices can differ.

Note: I've searched a lot about if the processor I choose (AMD FX-8150) is better than a i5 in the same price class, and I switched back and forth, heard people saying good things about one, then the other. I previously owned an Intel processor, and I wanted to choose one, but they are more expensive. I know the FX-8150 isn't always used, because not many applications use all those cores. But I give it a try, and see how it works out. So that will stay the same.

So my parts are the following:

Case: Corsair Carbide 500R, + I'll buy 2x 140mm fans for the "optional" places on it (I think the top, not sure, couldn't find that but that will be fine).

PSU: Sharkoon WPM600 (600 W, 48 A on 12V, 24 A on 3,3 V which I've read are "good")

Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0

Processor: AMD FX-8150

RAM: Corsair 16 GB DDR3-1866 Quad-Kit (CMZ16GX3M4X1866C9)

Video card: Asus GTX680-DC2T-2GD5 (cores factory oc'd to 1137 MHz, boost to 1201 MHz, dual fans)

Storage: SSD: Corsair CSSD-F240GB3-BK HDD: an older (Sata 2) 500 GB Samsung drive for extra storage

Will this be all fine?
And what do I have to buy which aren't included? For example a Sata 3 cable (in this case it's included, but those things). I don't want to end up with that something is missing.