$450 Hardware Budget HTPC Build Advice (First time builder)

pmorgan987

Honorable
Aug 18, 2012
Approximate Purchase Date: ASAP, hopefully placing an order Monday or Tuesday

Budget Range: ~ $450 not including the cost for the ceton card and Windows 7

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Recording and Watching Cable TV, burning DVD's of television shows recorded, editing commercials out of TV shows, surfing the web. No gaming.

Parts Not Required: Bluray Player

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg

Parts Preferences:by brand or type : AMD processor due to cost difference between AMD and Intel

Overclocking: NO

SLI or Crossfire: NO

Monitor Resolution: Will be later purchasing a TV for HDMI output, in the meantime will be using an old flatpanel monitor while setting things up.

Additional Comments: So I am a first time builder. I'm wanting to build a HTPC box to house a Ceton Infinitv 4 PCI card. I'm replacing an old Panasonic stand alone recorder that broke so I'm unfortunatly in a budget crunch. I wanted to see if the parts I have chosen are compatible with one another and also if I can do something similar with a less expensive setup; I'm wanting a good machine, but since it isn't going to be for gaming and much other than an HTPC, wasn't sure if I could get away with less expensive components while maintaining my needs. While the ceton card has 4 tuners, I don't really see using it for much more than recording using 1-2 at once with perhaps occasionally a third one for live watching. So this machine will be used as a capbox to record and playback recorded programs. Also, I'll have some software on it to edit videos to basically remove commercials and then burn to DVD. I'm not too interested in this point with this machine with bluray.

Case: Rosewill CHALLENGER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case, comes with Three Fans-1x Front Blue LED 120mm Fan, 1x Top 140mm Fan, 1x Rear 120mm Fan, option Fans-2x Side 120mm Fan