Sign in with
Your question

Need advise in selecting cabinet and PSU (which brand)?

Tags:
  • Power Supplies
  • Components
Last response: in Components
January 2, 2013 7:41:17 AM

First of all, let me thank you all.

I'm an engineering software developer. I never assembled a computer in my life, only bought from dell :) .
But this time I thought to look more deep and found that I can assemble a very high end computer by my own, instead of spending more on dell for not-as-good-configuration.

This forum really had answers to all my basic questions. After reading a lot of threads about computer hardware components, I decided for following configuration.

Processor: AMD FX 8120
Mobo: ASUS M5A97
Graphics Card: Sapphire HD 7770 1GB GDDR5
RAM: Transcend 2x8GB @1600Mhtz
Hard Disk: 1 TB Seagate (internal)
Monitor: Benq-24"LED monitor
Cabinet: ??Cooler master??
PSU: ??Cooler master (600 Watt)??

I need this configuration to watch high quality movies, games, and lots of multitasking.
On a serious side, I'm interested in GPU programming (hence I need a separate Graphics Card) and virtualization stuff.

I need help in choosing a cabinet and PSU for the whole system. Please feel free to add your comments about the pros and cons of the above chosen system configuration.

I read the topics on how to choose a PSU and came to a conclusion that 450 watt psu will not suffice as the graphics card alone need 450 watt power. I asked a vendor and he had straight a 600 watt coolermaster PSU. But I heard that cooler master is not a good psu supplier.

Please help!

More about : advise selecting cabinet psu brand

January 4, 2013 2:16:14 AM

Heyya!