Help With Choosing a GPU (AMD vs. nVidia)

kaZangy

Honorable
Jun 29, 2012
Hello Everyone!

I'm planning on building my first desktop PC, but I'm still a noob. I know there are some of the crazy GPUs out there like the nVidia GTX 690 and Radeon HD 7970 and stuff like that, but I don't have that kind of money nowadays. I'm looking at Ars Technica's system guide for the budget box, and my budget is only $800, so that works out pretty well. My only problem is I don't know which GPU to select.

First of all, I'm not sure whether to go with nVidia or Radeon. The budget box says the HD 6850 is a decent card, so what is the nVidia equivalent to that?

Also it might be helpful to know that I want to play different kinds of games, maybe some RTS's, like Starcraft II (hopefully maxed out at 1920x1080), and FPS (like Battlefield 3 maxed out or nice settings, since I know it's a really demanding game and my $800 budget won't satisfy), or maybe some RPG like Skyrim or Fallout.

Being future proof does matter though, I'm not expecting to run 2014's games maxed out at 60 FPS or anything like that, but I want to be able to play the games and run them well with at least decent graphics if not more.

Also something to consider is that I prefer a quieter GPU, because I still live with my parents and siblings, and I don't want them complaining about my monster-loud computer.

And some other important questions are: What is the core clock speed in a GPU? Does a higher clock speed mean a faster GPU? What's the difference between PCI and PCI Express?

Bascially, if you think I should know any basic spec things, or if I should know any fundamentals about GPUs, I would like to know.

Thank you so much! I appreciate it!

Temile

Honorable
Jun 7, 2012
Specs can be deceiving as each card has a (fairly) unique architecture. Tom's usually gives good budget advice:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-graphics-card-review,3107.html