Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Computer will not start up while the fans in the case are connected

Last response: in Systems
August 18, 2012 1:34:16 PM

Hello, this is my first time building a computer and I have been pulling money together for a while to be able to get it. But then I ran into an issue after putting it together:

After connecting everything together I discovered that my computer wouldn't start up. First I thought it was the PSU so I tested it in my old computer and it turned on perfectly. So I took out everything out except the PSU, Motherboard, CPU, and CPU Fan to find out what may be causing it to not power up.

First test start:
Motherboard, PSU, CPU, CPU Fan: Success

Second Test start:
Motherboard, PSU, CPU, CPU Fan, HDD: Success

Third Test Start:
Motherboard, PSU, CPU, CPU Fan, HDD, Disk Drive: Success

Fourth Test Start:
Motherboard, PSU, CPU, CPU Fan, HDD, Disk Drive, front base USB connector: Success

Fifth Test Start:
Motherboard, PSU, CPU, CPU Fan, HDD, Disk Drive, front base USB connector, Graphics Card: Success

Sixth Test Start:
Motherboard, PSU, CPU, CPU Fan, HDD, Disk Drive, front base USB connector, Graphics Card, Sound Card: Success

Seventh Test Start:
Motherboard, PSU, CPU, CPU Fan, HDD, Disk Drive, front base USB connector, Graphics Card, Sound Card, Case's rear fan: Fail
-Starts up for about 2 seconds then powers down

Eighth Test Start:
Motherboard, PSU, CPU, CPU Fan, HDD, Disk Drive, front base USB connector, Graphics Card, Sound Card, Case's front fan: Fail
-Starts up for about 2 seconds then powers down

for the 7th and 8th test i was using an adapter similar to this:

I would hook this up and connect it to the motherboard's 4 prong connector for fans and to the PSU.

Ninth Test Start:
Motherboard, PSU, CPU, CPU Fan, HDD, Disk Drive, front base USB connector, Graphics Card, Sound Card, Case's rear fan without adapter (to the 3 prong in the motherboard): Success