Building a Legacy PC

Tom_05

Honorable
Jul 5, 2012
Hello all! I'm relatively new to building systems but i know the basics. Im trying to build a Legacy system that will be able to play all my old games. Here are the specs i need, the rest can be anything compatible with these.

- A decent processor good enough to run win98.
- 64MB of RAM
- 4 DVD/CD drives for copying stuff
- 2 3.5 floppy drives for loading games and copying stuff (Floppy drives must support the high density versions of the disks)
- 2 5.25 floppy drives for documents
- 1 8 inch floppy drive to see what is inside all these 8 inch disks someone gave me.
- 3 parallel ports for printers and external ZIP drives
- 4 serial ports for peripherals.
- PS/2 ports for keyboard/mice
- A few USB ports wouldn't hurt :)
- External Graphics Card (Not embedded in motherboard)
- Sound Input/Output
- A couple spare PCI slots for ethernet card and other stuff
- A 2-40 GB spinning hard drive
- Game Controller port for the controllers for the games

runswindows95

Distinguished
At this day and age, there's no new hardware that will allow you to even come close. All the ports you require are almost nonexistent on new motherboards. It's even hard to find a new motherboard that supports a floppy drive these days, and most only have one IDE port if you're lucky. Plus no one makes drivers for Windows 98. If you really want to run Windows 98 on a modern system, the best way to do it is run it as a virtual machine.

Far as the 8" floppy, if it's IDE, you can get a IDE to USB adapter, and run it that way. Then again, if it's that old of a device, you might not be able to either read the discs, and/or even open the files.

Tom_05

Honorable
Jul 5, 2012
I don't care if the hardware is new or old, i just want those specs with a decent speed even slow would be fine.

wow.