twistedthinker

Honorable
Dec 4, 2012
This is my first post (hope I posted in the right spot) so please be patient with me in describing my problem and in any gracious response speak simply I am not too tech savvy. My (maybe a) problem is as follows along with a list of everything I could think of about my computer's guts. When I turn on the computer some time will pass before I will hear a knock followed by a few clicks. Now I probably have seen every video and YouTube about the click of death and none of them sound like this. Also it is not constant. If I didn't know it was a computer I'd swear it's like an old car just warming up. I will experience this knock and click 2,3,4 times in a row then nothing for 10 to 20 minutes then another series of knocks & clicks 1,2,3, or 4 times in a row. As time passes I stop hearing it almost all together. Once in a while I will get 1 or 2. Some days get more knocks some days less. I did a bios test - everything fine - did a Seagate scan from windows, scan passed. I tried to use HGST drive fitness disk but it could not recognize my drive - maybe because it's an SATA AHCI (whatever that is) . No performance issues, can run several programs, & watch a movie with no impact. The best I can give you for knock comparison is it's like a very small oil can (think Wizard of OZ tin man can) knock followed by 3 to 5 clicks. Very audible. Is there a test I can download to check my SATA drive, I can't seem to find & understand how to use them. I am open to any suggestions as to what it is. The drive is a newer release not much on the net about it. Well here is all I know about the things guts and thank you very much.
Model - HP Pavillion HPE h8-1234 #H2L72AA
Motherboard - M3970AM-HP (Angelica 2)
Processor - AMD FX-6120
Video Graphics - Radeon HD 7450
Hard Drive 1TB - Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000-D (HDS 7210 10DLE 630 ATA)(REVISION # MS2OA5R0)