Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Adequate power supply for new mid-range build

Last response: in Components
January 2, 2013 11:38:27 PM

Hello,
I am planning to construct a new mid-range computer for games and general use.

List below:
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx...

Short version: i5 3570-K, GTX 660Ti, 500W Corsair power supply.

Question: Is the 500W power supply sufficient for the rig? A newegg calculator tells me that I'll need about 450W, but other calculators online suggest higher power requirements.

I have no experience picking power supplies, and wanted to verify with someone. Thank you.
a b ) Power supply
January 2, 2013 11:42:40 PM

Take a Corsair CX600 and will be good :) 

If you want something more futureproof, go with a TX750 or TX850.

- The Brownie
Score
a c 280 ) Power supply
January 3, 2013 12:15:25 AM

SarBashar said:
Hello,
I am planning to construct a new mid-range computer for games and general use.

List below:
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx...

Short version: i5 3570-K, GTX 660Ti, 500W Corsair power supply.

Question: Is the 500W power supply sufficient for the rig? A newegg calculator tells me that I'll need about 450W, but other calculators online suggest higher power requirements.

I have no experience picking power supplies, and wanted to verify with someone. Thank you.

Hi - Your sys power draw with a 660ti will be approx 300w (+ or - 15w)
a quality 500w psu is sufficient.

Tom
Score
Related resources
a b ) Power supply
January 3, 2013 2:24:44 AM

ditto 500watts would be ample for such a configuration.
Score

Best solution

a c 1167 ) Power supply
January 3, 2013 2:33:22 AM

For a system using a single GeForce GTX 660 Ti graphics card NVIDIA specifies a minimum of a 450 Watt or greater power supply that has a maximum combined +12 Volt continuous current rating of 24 Amps or greater and that has at least two 6-pin PCI Express supplementary power connectors.