A newbie wants to upgrade his graphic card :)

razefast

Honorable
Jun 30, 2012
Hello guys!
Greetings from singapore! :)

I've this compaq presario SR5890D and want to upgrade my graphic card. But I am scared that other hardwares will bottleneck my new graphic card.
I am choosing between gtx 550 ti & gtx 560 ti. But I am also open to other suggestions as well.
I did some research about upgrading graphic card so I think I need to upgrade my power supply as well.
Oh, I forgot to mention that I am a total newbie on DIY desktop. This is my 1st time trying to upgrade something :(
I am hoping to get some help from pros :)

This is the price list from the shop that I am planning to get from. (their price is in S$)
http://www.cybermind.com.sg/pdf-upload/pricelists/cybermind.pdf

Please suggest me which gpu and psu I should get :)
Do I need to upgrade my RAM as well? *confused*

Monitor: HP 2309m (1920x1080)
Motherboard: MCP73M01H1 (Napa)
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 2.66 GHz
Memory: 4 GB PC2-6400
Graphic card: GT 130 (768MB)
PSU: 350W
Detailed Info: http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?objectID=c01686183&lang=en&cc=us&taskId=135&contentType=SupportFAQ&prodSeriesId=3880300&prodTypeId=12454

P.S. I want to play GTA IV, Skyrim, Dragon Age 2 with good FPS and graphics :)

Solution
G
i am sorry i missed the link you posted . .
if you go for the MSI GTX560 TwinFrozr II 1024MB then the SilverStone 500W ST50F-ES is what i would recommend, it is a little larger than the minimum but that SilverStone 400W (ST400) w/PFC is just a little odd with its 12 volt rail configuration. the single 34 amps on the 500 is a true continuous reading where as the 18,18 on the 400 is a maximum reading.

those 550ti and 7770 look over priced!

does that fit in your budget?

also the 4 gigs of ram is fine but the clock speed on the Q9400 will hold you back some; are you able to gently overclock that?
G