Sign in with
Your question

First Build - Thoughts?

Last response: in Systems
August 20, 2012 9:02:34 AM

Hey Folks,

Coming to you from all the way down in Australia. This is my first build - I'm looking to use it to game, download as well as store and (hopefully) stream videos to my tv. I've read too many forums on here to count and they've been very helpful. I know there are a million people on here asking to have their builds checked out but any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Corsair Carbide 400R Midi-Tower Case (CC9011011-WW) - $117 MSY Online
Cooler Master GX 750W Power Supply (RS-750-ACAA-D3) - $105 MSY Online
Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 Motherboard - $159 Austin Computers
Intel Core i5 3570K CPU (BX80637I53570K) - $235 PLE Computers
XFX HD6870 DUAL FAN Graphics Card (HD-687A-ZDFC) - $179 PLE Computers
G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) KIT DDR3 RIPJAWS X C9 1600MHz RAM (F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL) - $62 PLE Computers
OCZ Agility 4 2.5" 128GB Solid State Drive (AGT4-25SAT3-128G) - $109 MSY Online
2 x WD Caviar Green 3.5" 3TB 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drives (WD30EZRX) - $168 each MSY Online
Liteon IHAS324 BLACK SATA DVD Writer - $25 Austin Computers
Microsoft MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit OEM - $90 MSY Online
BILLION 7800N WIRELESS N MODEM ROUTER (BIPAC7800N) - $149 PLE Computers

My main concerns are:

a) If the components are compatible (as far as i can tell from my research they are).

b) Am I likely to need any extra cooling for the case or cpu (does it depend on if the cpu is overclocked or not?).

c) Would there be any issues supporting a dual screen setup.

d) Are the motherboard and case compatible in terms of the usb 3.0 headers? (this was the main reason for choosing this case).